QuarterMasterBuilt by a father, for a son
Menu

The value desk

Give us a budget. We'll find the best value.

53 makers graded against the house standard. We note which ones sell the real thing at Nordstrom Rack and which sell a cheaper line under the same name. No brand pays for placement.

Plan a budget

Tell us the room and the number.

We split the money the way the room's standard says to spend it, then find the best-graded makers that fit each line.

Already own

Is this worth it?

Check a piece before you pay.

Pick the maker and the category, where you found it, and the price. Add the fiber and build from the listing if you have them.

The ledger · checked 2026-09-26

53 makers, graded S to D.

Each dossier was researched from the brand's own pages, Nordstrom and Nordstrom Rack listings, and independent reviewers, then graded against the five house tests: the room, the material, the build, the restraint, the afterlife. No brand pays for placement.

Showing all 53 makers.

AA.P.C.JeansOff-price stock is mostly mainline

Why this grade. It passes the room, restraint and afterlife tests, and the Butler trade-in gives half off a new pair and puts the old one back on sale, but the material test slips on price: the same Vietnam-sewn pair lists at $340 in the US against 230 euros in Europe, with no stated weight.

Build. The permanent raw models (New Standard, Petit Standard, Petit New Standard, Martin) are 100 percent cotton, rigid Japanese selvedge with a button fly and caramel topstitching. They are sold unwashed to break in and fade. The denim runs about 12 to 14.5 oz, and the mill changes from season to season. Raw pairs list at $340 in the US, and washed versions at $350 to $370.

Made. The raw Petit New Standard is made in Vietnam from Japanese fabric; earlier pairs were sewn in Macau.

Off-price. Nordstrom Rack has listed the mainline Petit New Standard, and A.P.C.'s own Surplus stores have sold unsold stock at reduced prices since 1992. How to tell: Butler jeans are worn pairs that customers traded in. A.P.C. washes and repairs them, then resells them only in its own stores, marked with the former owner's initials.

Check before you buy.

  • Care label says 100% cotton, Japanese material
  • Button fly with caramel topstitching
  • Selvedge edge visible on the outseam when cuffed
  • Initials inside mean a used Butler pair
CAG Jeans (AG Adriano Goldschmied)Jeans · Chinos and cotton trousersOff-price stock is mostly mainline

Why this grade. It passes the room test with clean fits made in AG's own factories, but at $198 to $245 the core fabric is a polyester-elastane stretch blend with factory-faked wear, so it fails the material, restraint and afterlife tests, with no repair or take-back program found; the selvage line is the exception.

Build. Core men's jeans (Tellis, Everett, Graduate, Protege, Dylan) are stretch blends. Nordstrom lists the Tellis at 93 percent cotton, 6 percent polyester and 1 percent elastane, and a Graduate listing gives 10.25 oz denim at 92/6/2. Many washes are factory distressed to look 1 to 30 years worn, which AG calls AG-ed. Core chinos are 8.4 oz Sueded Stretch Sateen (97 percent cotton, 3 percent elastane) at $198 to $210, with Commuter Performance pants at $225. The separate selvage line runs $258 to $428.

Made. AG cuts, sews and finishes in its own factories, mostly in Aguascalientes, Mexico, with one near Los Angeles. Only the selvage jeans are labeled Made in USA.

Off-price. Nordstrom Rack carries mainline fits such as the Tellis Modern Slim in past-season washes, and AG runs its own outlet stores. How to tell: Rack listings titled Nordstrom Exclusive were Nordstrom-only washes. Search the wash name on agjeans.com.

Check before you buy.

  • Care label on core jeans lists polyester and elastane; selvage reads 98% cotton or more
  • A wash name with a year count (7 Years, 17 Years) means factory distressing
  • Made in USA appears only on selvage listings; core pairs say Imported
  • Rack listing title says Nordstrom Exclusive
SAldenLeather shoes · BootsRarely discounted

Why this grade. Horween leathers, a resoleable Goodyear welt, unchanged classic models and pairs that last decades through several resoles set the bar.

Build. Goodyear welted in small batches, so any skilled cobbler can resole them. Shell cordovan comes from Horween in Chicago.

Made. Middleborough, Massachusetts, USA.

Off-price. Discounts come mainly as dealer-sold factory seconds with cosmetic flaws, about 20 to 30 percent off, once or twice a year. How to tell: Seconds carry a large R stamp inside the lining and ship in a plain white box.

Check before you buy.

  • A large R stamp in the lining means a factory second
  • Shell cordovan or calf
  • Inspect seconds for scuffs and sole-edge flaws
  • Compare with dealer retail
AAllen EdmondsLeather shoes · Boots · SneakersOff-price stock is mixed

Why this grade. The welted, factory-recraftable classics pass the build, restraint and afterlife tests; material honesty slips only on imported models sold under the same compare-at.

Build. The core dress line is Goodyear welted, with calfskin uppers, a leather sole and cork fill. The factory can recraft a pair about four times.

Made. Finished in Port Washington, Wisconsin, with uppers sewn in the Dominican Republic. Some models, including Rack styles such as the Brady, are labeled Imported.

Off-price. The Rack sells Allen Edmonds at up to 73 percent off, but mixes mainline names like the Driggs with imported models like the Brady that still carry a $450 compare-at. How to tell: Some Rack listings say Imported rather than made in USA. Factory seconds carry an F2 stamp on the sole.

Check before you buy.

  • Tag or listing says made in USA, not Imported
  • Welt stitching visible around the sole edge
  • An F2 stamp on the sole means a factory second
  • The model also appears on allenedmonds.com
ABarbourOuterwearOff-price stock is mostly mainline

Why this grade. Honest waxed cotton, a factory rewax and repair service running since 1921, and restrained design give the classics a real afterlife.

Build. Classic jackets (Bedale, Beadnell, Border) use 6oz Thornproof or Sylkoil waxed cotton, meant to be rewaxed about once a year.

Made. Classic waxed jackets made in South Shields, England; some other products are made outside the UK.

Off-price. The Rack has carried mainline wax models such as the Beaufort. Any Barbour wax jacket can go back to South Shields for rewax or repair.

Check before you buy.

  • Made in the UK on the label for wax classics
  • 6oz Thornproof or Sylkoil named
  • Wax jacket or a quilted fashion line
  • Dry wax is fixable by a rewax
CBonobosSuits, jackets, trousers · Shirts · Knitwear · Chinos and cotton trousersOff-price stock not documented

Why this grade. Italian wool jackets are fair, but fused fronts and a pant sold as Italian wool at 48 percent wool fail the honesty and afterlife tests.

Build. Jetsetter jackets are Italian wool with a little elastane, half lined; a reviewed unconstructed blazer had fused lapels. The matching dress pant is 48 percent wool.

Made. Imported.

Off-price. The Rack lists Bonobos shirts at 32 to 64 percent off, and bonobos.com itself cuts deep.

Check before you buy.

  • Read the wool percentage on Italian wool trousers
  • Jacket fiber: 98 percent wool or a blend
  • Never pay list; promos run 30 percent off or more
  • Chino fiber: Original Chino is 98% cotton; Chino 2.0 is 92% cotton, 8% spandex
BBOSS (Hugo Boss)Suits, jackets, trousers · Shirts · Knitwear · Leather shoesOff-price stock not documented

Why this grade. Virgin wool and cupro pass material honesty, but canvas is only documented on upper lines, so many suits trade build for the logo.

Build. Core suits are 100 percent virgin wool with cupro lining. Core lines are half canvas, entry and travel suits have fused fronts, and the top line is full canvas.

Made. Varies: own factories in Germany, Poland, Turkey and Italy make a share; suppliers the rest. Full Canvas suits are made in Germany.

Off-price. Nordstrom Rack runs a BOSS shop that mixes overstock with pieces bought for the Rack, and the listings do not say which is which.

Check before you buy.

  • Fabric reads 100 percent virgin wool, not a blend
  • Lining is cupro or viscose, not polyester
  • Pinch the chest for a loose canvas layer
BBrooks BrothersSuits, jackets, trousers · ShirtsOutlet stock is mostly made for outlets

Why this grade. Mainline half-canvas Italian-made suits pass build and material tests, but most outlet stock is a separate product under the same name.

Build. 1818 suits are half canvas in Italian-woven wool. Non-iron shirts are Supima cotton with a little spandex.

Made. 1818 suits made in Italy; other lines imported. The US factories closed in 2020.

Off-price. Brooks Brothers outlets mostly carry pieces made for outlets, not mainline overstock. How to tell: Price tag upper left: 27 means made for outlet, 26 means mainline. An 'Established 1818' label is mainline; a plain '1818' label is outlet.

Check before you buy.

  • Tag code: 26 mainline, 27 outlet
  • Label: 'Established 1818' or plain '1818'
  • Half canvas and Made in Italy on 1818 suits
ABuck MasonTees and polosOff-price stock is mostly mainline

Why this grade. The Pennsylvania-made Supima and slub tees pass the room, material and restraint tests at $48; the compromise is build, since the core jersey is a light 140 to 145 GSM, and the polos do not say where they are made.

Build. The Pima tees are 140 GSM Supima jersey and the Slub tees are 145 GSM USA-grown cotton, knit on the brand's own tubular machines and garment washed. Toughknit is a 200 GSM tubular jersey, and the Field-Spec Heavy Tee is a 310 GSM rugby-weight cotton. The 140 to 145 GSM core jersey is light, so it drapes well but will not last as long as heavier knits. Polos run from the $88 sueded 145 GSM cotton jersey polo to the $198 Seafarer cotton rugby.

Made. Slub, Pima and Toughknit tees are knit and sewn at Buck Mason's own mill in Mohnton, Pennsylvania. The Field-Spec Heavy Tee, the hemp tee and the polos do not say where they are made, and most of the line beyond tees and selvedge denim is made overseas.

Off-price. Nordstrom Rack sold the mainline Pima Curved Hem Tee for $25 against its $48 list in February 2026, and Rack listings for the Pima and Classic tees say Made in the USA. No outlet-only line is documented. How to tell: Rack listings use the same style names as buckmason.com and say Made in the USA.

Check before you buy.

  • The tag or listing says Made in USA for Slub, Pima and Toughknit tees
  • The Pima line reads 100% pima cotton
  • A Rack price near $25 against a $48 compare-at matches the mainline tee
  • The style name also appears on buckmason.com
BCanada GooseOuterwearRarely discounted

Why this grade. Made in Canada with a lifetime defect warranty and brand-run resale, but 625 duck down in a poly-cotton shell at $1,895 means part of the price is the badge.

Build. The Expedition Parka pairs a poly-cotton shell with 625-fill duck down; brand fill powers run 625 to 800.

Made. Parkas made in Canada.

Off-price. Only authorized retailers guarantee authenticity and warranty; the sanctioned discount path is Generations, graded used pieces.

Check before you buy.

  • Authorized retailer or Generations, nothing else
  • Tags intact (the warranty needs them)
  • Made in Canada on parkas
BCarharttChore jackets and overshirtsOff-price stock is mostly mainline

Why this grade. Passes the material, build and afterlife tests with 12 oz triple-stitched duck at about $120 and a trade-in and resale program, but the sewn-on logo label limits restraint, most coats are simply Imported, and the current unlined coat has moved to stretch duck.

Build. The blanket-lined 103825 and the Crafted Series coats use 12 oz 100% ring-spun cotton duck. The current unlined Rugged Flex 106675 is lighter, 11.4 oz duck with 1% spandex. Main seams are triple stitched, the collar is corduroy trimmed, and the pockets on the 103825 are riveted. Duck this heavy is what makes the coat last.

Made. The standard chore coats say Imported, and no country is stated. The Crafted Series Duck Sherpa Lined Chore Coat is labeled Made in the USA of Imported Parts. Carhartt WIP is a separate European line: its Michigan Coat is 12 oz organic Dearborn canvas, triple stitched, $218 on the WIP US site.

Off-price. Discounts come on the same coats: Dungarees cuts the 106675 from $119.99 to $109.99, and Carhartt Reworked resells graded used 103825 coats for $72 against $119.99 new. How to tell: Reworked listings carry a condition grade. WIP pieces carry the Carhartt WIP label and cost about twice the mainline coat.

Check before you buy.

  • Fabric line reads 12-ounce 100% cotton duck, not 11.4-ounce cotton and spandex
  • Main seams are triple stitched
  • Made in the USA of Imported Parts appears only on Crafted Series
  • A Carhartt WIP label means the pricier European line
SCasio G-SHOCKWatchesOff-price stock is mostly mainline

Why this grade. The reference for tough value: resin and mineral are exactly what the price implies, and the shock-resistant build is proven.

Build. Quartz digital modules in a shock-resistant build; the DW5600E has a resin case, mineral crystal and 200m for about $100. Step-ups add solar, radio sync and steel cases.

Made. Made in Japan, Thailand and China; the caseback states the country.

Off-price. Core models sell well under list at big-box stores; the 1-year warranty means off-price buyers give up little.

Check before you buy.

  • Exact model code
  • Country on the caseback
  • Street price against about $100 list
BCharles TyrwhittShirts · Suits, jackets, trousers · KnitwearRarely discounted

Why this grade. Half-canvas Super 120s suits and 2-ply cotton shirts are honest at real prices; the compromise is basic shirt make with a resin non-iron finish.

Build. Shirts are 2-ply cotton with a resin non-iron finish. Ultimate Performance jackets are half canvas in Super 120s wool.

Made. Shirts made in Vietnam; suit jackets made in India.

Off-price. Discounts come through the brand's own multibuys and sales, not the Rack.

Check before you buy.

  • Buy on multibuy, not single list price
  • Non-iron means resin-treated cotton
  • Suits: half canvas and Super 120s on the tag
BCitizenWatchesOff-price stock is mostly mainline

Why this grade. Eco-Drive removes battery swaps and the 5-year warranty is the longest here; the compromise is mineral crystals on many core models.

Build. In-house Eco-Drive light-powered quartz, plus Miyota mechanicals such as the 8210 in the Tsuyosa.

Made. Japan, with factories in China and Thailand.

Off-price. Nordstrom Rack lists Eco-Drive models at about half their compare-at; the 5-year warranty applies only to authorized retailers. How to tell: Warranty needs the certificate with serial number and date filled in by the retailer.

Check before you buy.

  • Warranty certificate filled in
  • Mineral or sapphire crystal
  • Eco-Drive quartz or Miyota automatic
BClarksLeather shoes · BootsOff-price stock is mostly mainline

Why this grade. Honest leather and restrained icons, but the core Collection is a cemented comfort build, and only the Originals offer a resole path.

Build. Collection dress shoes are cemented, with leather uppers on rubber soles and textile linings. The Desert Boot is Blake stitched to a crepe sole that cobblers can resole.

Made. The Desert Boot is made in Vietnam, with pricier Italian and English versions. Collection shoes are listed as Imported.

Off-price. The Rack carries Collection styles also sold at clarks.com, and Clarks outlets mostly sell the same mainline shoes.

Check before you buy.

  • Collection or Originals line
  • Desert Boot made in Vietnam, Italy or England
  • Textile or leather lining
  • Rack price against a clarks.com sale
CCole HaanLeather shoes · Boots · SneakersOutlet stock is mostly made for outlets

Why this grade. Foam-soled, textile-lined shoes with no resole path, sold through a separate outlet line against soft compare-at prices: fine as a cheap comfort commuter and little else.

Build. Leather uppers on molded foam and rubber soles with textile linings. The brand states no welt and no resole path.

Made. Imported. Listings do not name a country.

Off-price. Cole Haan outlets mostly sell a separate made-for-outlet line, with few mainline leftovers. The Rack lists Grand-series styles at up to 85 percent off. How to tell: At the outlet, an orange tag marks a mainline shoe, and a II on the box marks an outlet-only pair.

Check before you buy.

  • At outlets, an orange tag means a mainline shoe
  • A II on the box suggests an outlet-only item
  • Textile or leather lining
  • Treat the compare-at as soft
BCommon ProjectsSneakers · BootsRarely discounted

Why this grade. Honest Italian leather, a stitched cupsole and extreme restraint; the compromise is a $440-plus price for a shoe that may not be resoleable.

Build. Leather upper and lining on a thick Margom rubber cupsole that is glued and stitched.

Made. Italy (Marche region).

Off-price. The Rack has listed Made in Italy Original Achilles pairs, but they sell out quickly.

Check before you buy.

  • Gold foil heel stamp with style, size and color codes
  • Made in Italy on the listing
  • Whole sizes only; runs large
CDockersChinos and cotton trousersOff-price stock is mostly mainline

Why this grade. Passes the room and restraint tests with plain, logo-light khakis, but fails the material and afterlife tests: polyester blends and treated finishes at an $80 list the brand routinely halves, with no repair program or resale value.

Build. Signature Khakis are 98 percent cotton, 2 percent spandex with a wrinkle-resistant finish, Stain Defender and a stretch waistband. Easy Khakis are 64 percent cotton, 34 percent polyester and 2 percent elastane twill with a wrinkle-free finish. Ultimate Chinos are 75 percent cotton, 20 percent recycled cotton and 5 percent elastane four-way stretch twill. Fabric weights are not stated. Built for easy care rather than long wear.

Made. Labeled Imported; dockers.com does not name the country.

Off-price. Kohl's carries the same Signature, Easy and Ultimate families at the same $66 to $80 list, Nordstrom Rack has sold mainline Alpha chinos, and dockers.com itself sells the $80 Signature Khaki at about $39 to $45 during frequent promotions. How to tell: Match the style name and item number on the tag to dockers.com. Kohl's also lists a Signature Khaki Lux at a $62 list, below the $80 Signature on dockers.com.

Check before you buy.

  • Fiber tag: Signature is 98 percent cotton; Easy Khaki is 34 percent polyester
  • Stain Defender or wrinkle-free on the label means a treated finish
  • Item number on the tag matches a dockers.com listing
  • A price near $40 is the normal sale price, not a deep discount
BECCOLeather shoes · Boots · SneakersOff-price stock is mostly mainline

Why this grade. Vertical control of leather and factories earns trust, but the injected PU sole limits lifespan, with no standard resole and a documented breakdown history.

Build. ECCO-tanned leather uppers on direct-injected PU soles, bonded without glue or stitching. Resoling means a specialist sole swap.

Made. About 98 percent made in ECCO-owned factories in Portugal, Slovakia, Thailand, Indonesia, Vietnam and China, with its own tanneries.

Off-price. The Rack carries mainline models like the Metropole and Soft 7 at about 45 to 65 percent off.

Check before you buy.

  • Flex the sole: no cracking or crumbling
  • The model name matches one on ecco.com
  • Leather or textile lining
  • Gore-Tex callout if you need waterproofing
BFilsonOuterwear · ShirtsOff-price stock is mostly mainline

Why this grade. Heavy, honest fabrics with a lifetime guarantee plus repair, but US production has dropped to about a third, so the label sets the value, not the name.

Build. The Mackinaw Cruiser is 24 oz wool; Tin Cloth Cruisers are waxed canvas; Alaskan Guide shirts are 8 oz brushed cotton.

Made. Mixed: the US-made share fell from 90 percent (2015) to about 35 percent (2025).

Off-price. Filson's own outlet sells first-quality discontinued styles. Filson offers repair and rewaxing.

Check before you buy.

  • Made in USA, Made in USA of imported material, or imported
  • Fabric weight named
  • Model and fabric against filson.com
BFlorsheimLeather shoes · BootsOff-price stock is mostly mainline

Why this grade. Honest leather and classic shapes, and the Kenmoor is genuinely welted, but most stock is the rubber-soled comfort line with no stated repair path.

Build. The Imperial Kenmoor is Goodyear welted calfskin on a double leather sole. The comfort line uses leather uppers on rubber soles, construction not stated.

Made. Imported per the listings. The brand does not name a country.

Off-price. The Rack carries the wholesale comfort line at $70 to $100, not the welted Imperial Kenmoor.

Check before you buy.

  • Imperial label and a Goodyear welt callout
  • Leather or synthetic lining
  • Leather sole or rubber
BGrensonLeather shoes · BootsOff-price stock is mostly mainline

Why this grade. Welted, resoleable and honest leathers; the compromise is that the cheaper G:Two line is made overseas.

Build. Most shoes are Goodyear welted and can be resoled many times. Sneakers and Stitchdown styles are not welted.

Made. G:One is made in Rushden, England; G:Two in partner factories overseas.

Off-price. Grenson's own outlet sells end-of-line and not-quite-right pairs.

Check before you buy.

  • G:One (Made in England) or G:Two (overseas)
  • Goodyear welt or Stitchdown and sneaker builds
  • Outlet pairs may be not quite right: inspect
AHamiltonWatchesOff-price stock is mostly mainline

Why this grade. Sapphire and steel at every price, 80-hour Swiss movements, restrained designs, and a worldwide warranty.

Build. Swatch Group movements with 80-hour reserves: hand-wound H-50 (Khaki Field Mechanical) and automatic H-10. Sapphire crystals and steel cases even on the quartz Khaki Field.

Made. Swiss Made; movements by Swatch Group's ETA.

Off-price. Khaki Field models are common at grey sellers, where the seller's own warranty replaces Hamilton's worldwide warranty. How to tell: Hamilton service needs the stamped warranty card or an authorized-dealer receipt.

Check before you buy.

  • Stamped warranty card or authorized-dealer receipt
  • H-50 hand-wind, H-10 automatic, or quartz
  • Third-party seller means grey market
BJ.CrewSuits, jackets, trousers · Shirts · Knitwear · Chinos and cotton trousersOutlet stock is mostly made for outlets

Why this grade. Mainline Ludlow passes with half canvas and Italian cloth, but Factory is a separate, cheaper line sold under the same name.

Build. Ludlow Traveler suits are half canvas in Italian stretch wool. Factory Thompson suits are wool with no construction disclosed.

Made. Ludlow Traveler made in China; Factory goods listed as imported.

Off-price. J.Crew Factory sells made-for-outlet goods under the J.Crew name, such as Thompson suits in place of Ludlow. How to tell: Two small diamonds under the words J.Crew on the label mark Factory goods.

Check before you buy.

  • Two diamonds under the label means Factory
  • Ludlow is mainline, Thompson is Factory
  • Half canvas and a named Italian mill
  • A J.Crew Factory label or factory.jcrew.com listing means the outlet chino, sold at the same $98 compare-at as the mainline 484 and 770
BJohnston & MurphyLeather shoes · Boots · SneakersOff-price stock is mostly mainline

Why this grade. Honest leather uppers and restrained classic shapes, but only welted models like the Melton have a clear resole path.

Build. Build varies by model. The Melton is Goodyear welted calfskin on a leather sole. Most styles, such as the Upton, put leather uppers over synthetic linings and foam or rubber soles.

Made. Imported. US production ended in 2017, and listings do not name a country.

Off-price. The Rack carries mainline comfort lines like the Upton at about 40 to 65 percent off.

Check before you buy.

  • Leather or rubber sole, and whether it says Goodyear welt
  • Leather or synthetic lining
  • The Melton is the welted model
  • Compare-at against the current J&M site price
SJohnstons of ElginKnitwearOff-price stock not documented

Why this grade. A vertical Scottish mill, certified cashmere, hand-linked knits and a mending service.

Build. The classic crew is 100 percent cashmere in 2-ply yarn, knitted and hand-linked in its Hawick mill.

Made. Scotland: weaving in Elgin, knitting in Hawick.

Off-price. Not documented at the Rack; the brand runs periodic sales and a mending partnership.

Check before you buy.

  • Made in Scotland on the label
  • 100 percent cashmere, not a blend
  • Ply stated
BLacosteTees and polosOff-price stock is mostly mainline

Why this grade. The Classic Fit L.12.12 passes the room and material tests with all-cotton petit piqué and mother-of-pearl buttons, and it ages into a staple; the compromise is restraint, since the crocodile is the point, and a brand site that never says where it is made.

Build. The Original L.12.12 is 100 percent cotton petit piqué with a ribbed collar and an embroidered crocodile. The Classic Fit L.12.12 has mother-of-pearl buttons; other fits use plastic. The Pima crew tee uses Peruvian Pima cotton. Fabric weights are not stated.

Made. Most Lacoste polos are made in Peru, some in France, and lacoste.com does not say which. A separate Made in France line from Troyes costs $145.

Off-price. Nordstrom Rack has sold the Original L.12.12 petit piqué polo labeled Made in Peru, and Simon says Lacoste outlets sell first quality Lacoste product at 25 to 80 percent off. No source documents a made-for-outlet Lacoste line. How to tell: No outlet tag is documented. Match the L1212 style code and the mother-of-pearl buttons against lacoste.com.

Check before you buy.

  • Style code L1212 for the original classic fit
  • Mother-of-pearl buttons, not plastic
  • The tag says 100% cotton and names the country (Peru, or France for the Troyes line)
  • The listing names petit piqué
ALady White Co.Tees and polosRarely discounted

Why this grade. The six-ounce tubular tee, knit and sewn in Los Angeles with no branding, passes the room, material, build and restraint tests; the compromise is $70 for one plain tee, with no repair or resale afterlife to speak of.

Build. Our T-shirt (LW-101) is 100 percent US cotton from North Carolina, knit into a dry, midweight six-ounce tubular jersey with no side seams, a double-needle bound collar and a preshrunk finish, so it shrinks only about 3 percent in the wash. Other tees go up to a ten-ounce Rugby T-shirt, and the polos include a Supima interlock two-button style at $210 and the ringspun cotton Walter polo at $220.

Made. Our T-shirt and most tees are knit, cut and sewn in Los Angeles. Styles on Japanese fabric, such as the Nep T-shirt and the wool polos, are cut and sewn in Los Angeles.

Off-price. No Nordstrom Rack or outlet presence was found. Discounts show up only as boutique markdowns, such as Garmentory listing the Our T-shirt 2-pack at $80 to $90 against $120.

Check before you buy.

  • The tag or listing says knit, cut and sewn in Los Angeles
  • Our T-shirt has no side seams (tubular body)
  • Double-needle bound collar
  • Style code LW-101 for Our T-shirt
ALe LaboureurChore jackets and overshirtsRarely discounted

Why this grade. Passes the room, restraint, build and material tests with dense French cotton moleskin, an unchanged pattern and no outside branding at $150 to $205, but some colors are polycotton and there is no repair program.

Build. The work jacket comes in heavy 100% cotton moleskin at 400 g/m2 or in 100% cotton Sanforized twill with a twisted warp at 340 g/m2. The pocket corners are angled to resist tearing. It is unlined, with a chest pocket, two lower pockets, one inside pocket and button cuffs. Some moleskin versions are 65/35 cotton and polyester, so read the label. Stitch type is not stated.

Made. Made in the brand's own workshop in Digoin, France, by a family company using the same pattern since 1956. The maker sells through resellers at about 118 to 129 euros in France. US prices here come from US-facing retailers Tourneur Goods ($150) and Urban Excess ($165 to $205).

Off-price. No outlet or off-price channel was found. A Garmentory listing at $170 is a retailer selling at close to full price.

Check before you buy.

  • Composition label reads 100% cotton, not 65/35 polycotton
  • Made in France label
  • Moleskin near 400 g/m2 or twill near 340 g/m2 on the listing
  • Four pockets: chest, two lower, one inside
BLevi'sJeansOff-price stock is mixed

Why this grade. It passes the room and restraint tests, and the afterlife test through Tailor Shop repairs, in-store trade-in credit and a deep resale market, but the material and build slip: the weight is not stated, stretch versions thin the fabric, and the core line comes from contract factories at mass scale.

Build. The 501 Original is 100 percent cotton, non-stretch denim with a button fly and five-pocket build. Levi's does not state the fabric weight, and the 501 also comes in stretch versions. The 501 Original Selvedge uses shuttle-loom selvedge denim for a tighter weave. The range covers the core fits at $74.95 (505, 511, 514, 541, 550), the 501 at $84.95 and the 501 Selvedge at $150. Levi's Vintage Clothing reissues at $250 to $325 are left out.

Made. The 501 Original is made in Egypt, Mexico and Pakistan. The 501 Original Selvedge is made in China and Vietnam. The 1980s 501 Selvedge reissue ($250) is made in Japan from Japanese selvedge.

Off-price. Nordstrom Rack lists mainline 501 Originals, and Levi's runs its own outlet stores without saying how much outlet stock is made for outlets. Walmart sells Signature by Levi Strauss & Co., a separate, cheaper line under the parent company's name. How to tell: A Signature by Levi Strauss & Co. label means the mass-channel line, not red tab Levi's. Match the product code on the inside tag (for example 00501-0193) to a listing on levi.com.

Check before you buy.

  • Rigid 501 tag says 100% cotton and the listing says non-stretch
  • The Made in line reads Egypt, Mexico or Pakistan for the 501 Original
  • Selvedge pairs show a finished edge on the outseam when cuffed
  • The label says Levi's with a red tab, not Signature by Levi Strauss & Co.
BMagnanniLeather shoes · Boots · SneakersOff-price stock is mostly mainline

Why this grade. Honest Spanish leather and a resoleable stitched build, but the full price is steep for a make that favors flexibility over longevity. Buy at Rack prices.

Build. Bologna construction wraps the upper like a sock for flexibility, and the Blake-stitched sole can be resoled. Hand-applied patinas.

Made. Made in Spain (Almansa).

Off-price. The Rack carries Spanish-made Magnanni, including models also on the brand site, at about 42 to 69 percent off.

Check before you buy.

  • Tag says Made in Spain
  • Leather or rubber sole
  • Even patina at toe and heel
  • Compare-at against magnanni.com
CMaison Margiela (Replica)SneakersRarely discounted

Why this grade. The Italian leather is real, but $850 buys a synthetic-soled copy of an army trainer, mostly for the label, with no documented repair path.

Build. Leather upper with suede overlays, leather and textile lining, and a synthetic sole, modeled on the 1970s German Army Trainer.

Made. Italy.

Off-price. The Rack has listed Made in Italy Replica pairs in mainline materials, but they sell out. Secondhand pairs are common.

Check before you buy.

  • Made in Italy and a leather upper on the listing
  • Crisp insole and sole text; thin print suggests a fake
  • Runs small
ANaked & Famous DenimJeansRarely discounted

Why this grade. It passes the material, build and room tests with Canadian-sewn, 100 percent cotton Japanese selvedge at a fair price that ages well raw, but restraint slips on the novelty fabrics, and the afterlife rests on free hemming alone, with no repair or take-back program found.

Build. Core raw jeans use 13 to 15 oz, 100 percent cotton Japanese selvedge woven on vintage shuttle looms. They are finished with metal buttons and rivets, a full grain leather patch and contrast stitching. Stretch Selvedge is 12.5 oz at 98 percent cotton and 2 percent elastane. The range runs from the 13 oz Indigo Selvedge at $155 to Solid Black Selvedge at $193. Seasonal fabrics at $205 to $380 and the made-in-Japan MIJ series at $288 to $888 are left out. Jeans bought from the brand get free chain-stitch hemming on a Union Special 43200G.

Made. Cut, sewn and finished in Canada from Japanese fabric. The limited MIJ series is made in Japan.

Off-price. Only older Nordstrom Rack listings turned up, such as the Super Guy in Left Hand Twill Selvedge. The brand clears discontinued fabrics on its own sale page at 20 to 60 percent off.

Check before you buy.

  • Tag or listing says Made in Canada
  • Listing states the ounce weight and Japanese selvedge denim
  • Rigid fabrics read 100% cotton; Stretch Selvedge lists 2% elastane
  • Colored selvedge ID shows on the outseam when cuffed
BNew BalanceSneakersOff-price stock is mostly mainline

Why this grade. Origin labeling is honest and the suede is real, but mesh and foam midsoles limit how long even the premium lines last.

Build. The Made in USA 990 pairs mesh and pigskin suede with foam midsoles. The UK 991 is built the same way; the standard 574 uses suede and mesh.

Made. Made in USA lines: New England factories, 70 percent or more domestic value. Made in UK: Flimby, England. Standard line: not stated.

Off-price. New Balance outlets carry largely the same shoes as regular stores. Current Rack stock is standard models, not Made in USA or UK.

Check before you buy.

  • Made in USA or Made in UK in the model name
  • Model: 990, 992, 998 or UK 991
  • Pigskin suede or synthetic upper
CNordstrom (house label)Suits, jackets, trousers · ShirtsOff-price stock is mixed

Why this grade. Mainline pieces are decent but thinly documented, and the Rack's own label sells polyester and viscose suits against wool-level compare-at prices.

Build. Suits are reported fused with some chest canvas. Dress shirts are 100 percent cotton.

Made. Imported.

Off-price. The Rack sells its own NORDSTROM RACK label, such as a polyester and viscose suit shown against a $449 compare-at. How to tell: Listings branded NORDSTROM RACK are the Rack's own label, not Nordstrom mainline.

Check before you buy.

  • Brand line: NORDSTROM RACK or Nordstrom
  • Avoid polyester and viscose suiting
  • Final Sale flag on Rack listings
SPatagoniaOuterwearRarely discounted

Why this grade. Discloses fill, certification and factory, repairs tens of thousands of items a year under its guarantee, and resells used gear through Worn Wear.

Build. The Down Sweater uses 800-fill RDS-certified down in a recycled nylon ripstop shell.

Made. Overseas (the Down Sweater is made in Bangladesh) in Fair Trade Certified factories.

Off-price. Patagonia no longer sells through Nordstrom or the Rack, and fakes have turned up at the Rack before. Real discounts come from Patagonia's own sales and Worn Wear. How to tell: The counterfeits had a neck tag reading 100 percent cotton with a care tag reading polyester.

Check before you buy.

  • Neck tag and care tag fiber content match
  • Seller is Patagonia, Worn Wear or an authorized dealer
  • Fill power and RDS on down pieces
BPeter MillarShirts · Knitwear · Suits, jackets, trousers · OuterwearOff-price stock not documented

Why this grade. Canvas-chest Italian wool tailoring is sound, but core knits are cotton, modal and polyester blends priced like natural fibers.

Build. Flynn sport coats are Italian wool with a canvas chest piece. Crown Comfort quarter-zips are cotton, modal and polyester.

Made. Imported.

Off-price. The Rack carries a wide Peter Millar range at roughly 45 to 65 percent off, with no made-for-Rack labeling on listings.

Check before you buy.

  • Modal and polyester in Crown Comfort knits
  • Sport coats: canvas chest and Italian wool
  • Compare the Rack compare-at to nordstrom.com
BPolo Ralph LaurenTees and polos · Chinos and cotton trousersOff-price stock is mixed

Why this grade. The mesh polo and chino pass the room and afterlife tests and mostly the restraint test with a small pony; the compromise is average material and build for the price, plus factory stores that mix in made-for-outlet goods with no label to flag them.

Build. The Iconic Mesh Polo is cotton mesh (Ralph Lauren gives no percentage) with a ribbed collar, a tennis tail and small side vents. The buttons are plastic, the buttonholes can fray and the collar tends to roll, but the midweight mesh lasts. The Stretch Straight Fit Washed Chino is 97 percent cotton and 3 percent elastane with a zip fly and buttoned back pockets. The $175 Salinger is 100 percent cotton with a button fly.

Made. Ralph Lauren lists the mesh polo and its chinos as Imported without naming a country. Origin for the core jersey tee is not stated.

Off-price. Ralph Lauren factory stores carry much of the mainline range, plus some made-for-outlet pieces with small differences. Nordstrom Rack also sells mainline pieces, such as a Classic Fit mesh polo. How to tell: Outlet-only pieces carry no special tag. A plain Ralph Lauren label, not Polo Ralph Lauren, marks a lower line.

Check before you buy.

  • The label reads Polo Ralph Lauren, not plain Ralph Lauren
  • The exact style name is on ralphlauren.com
  • Chino fiber reads 97% cotton, 3% elastane, or 100% cotton for the Salinger
  • The mesh polo has a tennis tail and side vents
ARed Wing HeritageBoots · Leather shoesOff-price stock is mostly mainline

Why this grade. Honest leather, a Goodyear welt over cork and leather, restrained work designs and an in-house resole service keep the boots in service for years.

Build. Goodyear welted, with a leather insole and cork midsole. The Iron Ranger uses full-grain S.B. Foot leather and a Vibram sole.

Made. USA (Minnesota); the men's Heritage styles are marked Made in USA.

Off-price. The Rack has carried USA-made Heritage styles at up to about half off. Factory seconds are sold separately through some retailers as final sale. How to tell: Retailers label seconds and sell them final sale.

Check before you buy.

  • Made in USA and a style number that matches redwingshoes.com
  • Whether the listing says seconds or final sale
  • Leather name and tannery
ASchott NYCOuterwearRarely discounted

Why this grade. US-made heavyweight steerhide that breaks in rather than wears out, unchanged patterns, and paid repairs by the maker.

Build. Perfectos (618, 118) use heavyweight US-sourced steerhide or cowhide with a quilted lining; stiff at first, softens with wear.

Made. Core leather jackets made in USA.

Off-price. No Rack stock in September 2026. Schott quotes repairs by email.

Check before you buy.

  • Made in USA on the label
  • Steerhide or cowhide, not lambskin
  • Style number against schottnyc.com
BSeikoWatchesOff-price stock is mostly mainline

Why this grade. Honest, in-house build with a 3-year warranty and a global service network; the compromise is Hardlex crystals and loosely regulated 4R movements on the core tier.

Build. In-house automatics: 4R36 with Hardlex crystal in Seiko 5 Sports, 6R movements with sapphire in Prospex. Steel cases throughout the core range.

Made. Japan, with parts and movement plants in Singapore, Malaysia and China.

Off-price. Mainline references are discounted by grey sellers; the 3-year warranty covers only purchases from Seiko or an authorized dealer. How to tell: Seiko USA honors the warranty only with a card filled in and dated by an authorized dealer.

Check before you buy.

  • Authorized dealer, or accept the seller's own warranty
  • Caliber 4R or 6R
  • Hardlex or sapphire crystal
ASunspelTees and polosRarely discounted

Why this grade. The Supima Classic tee made in England and the in-house Riviera mesh pass the room, material, build and restraint tests; the compromise is that most polos and the whole Sea Island line are made in Portugal at the same premium.

Build. The Classic T-shirt uses Sunspel's Q82 jersey: two-fold, extra-long staple Supima cotton traced to a single California farm. Weight is not stated. The Riviera polo uses Q75, a warp-knit Supima mesh Sunspel developed in 1955, and the Piqué polo adds a rib collar and cuffs, side vents and shell buttons. The $200 Sea Island tee and the $375 Sea Island knit polo use West Indies cotton spun in Switzerland.

Made. Classic T-shirts are made in Sunspel's own factory in Long Eaton, England. The Riviera and Piqué polos, the Riviera Midweight tee and the Sea Island tees and knit polos are made in Portugal.

Off-price. Sunspel.com runs seasonal sales. The only Nordstrom Rack listing found was a Riviera polo labeled Made in Portugal, and it was sold out. What the Bicester Village and Long Eaton factory stores stock is not documented. How to tell: No outlet line is documented. Off-price pieces found so far use the same style names and origins as sunspel.com.

Check before you buy.

  • The Classic T-shirt tag says Made in England; polos say Portugal
  • Fiber reads 100% Supima Cotton or 100% Sea Island Cotton
  • The style name (Classic, Riviera, Piqué) appears on sunspel.com
  • The Piqué polo has side vents and shell buttons
BTaylor StitchChore jackets and overshirts · Chinos and cotton trousersOff-price stock is mostly mainline

Why this grade. Passes the room and restraint tests with a clean fit and quiet branding, and the build is sound with felled seams and a lifetime defect guarantee, but an 8 oz Chinese-made twill coat at $198 is thin next to French makers at the same price.

Build. The Ojai chore coat is 8 oz mercerized organic cotton twill ($198) or 12 oz organic corduroy ($248). It is double-needle felled throughout, with bar-tacked pockets and ring-back buttons. The Maritime shirt jacket is 13 oz organic moleskin twill. The Foundation chino is 8 oz organic twill with a bound fly, outseam and interior seams and a YKK zip. The Long Haul Guarantee covers defects for the life of the product.

Made. The Ojai, Maritime, Shop Shirt and Foundation Pant are made in China. The Ryder jacket is made in Vietnam and the Breakwater pant in Indonesia.

Off-price. The brand's own Last Call section sells past colors of mainline styles at about 30 percent off. No Nordstrom Rack presence was found. How to tell: Last Call listings show the struck-through full price. No made-for-outlet line was found.

Check before you buy.

  • Listing states fabric weight: 8 oz twill versus 12 oz cord
  • Label says Made in China
  • Double-needle felled seams and bar-tacked pocket corners
  • Chino has bound interior seams and a YKK zip
BTecovasBootsOff-price stock is mostly mainline

Why this grade. Real cowhide, goat and bison on a pegged, resoleable welt are honest; the compromise is foam-padded insoles and a partial welt.

Build. Western boots use a 3/4 Goodyear welt and a leather sole, with the stacked heel secured by lemonwood pegs and a steel shank. The Rugged line uses rubber soles.

Made. Leon, Mexico. Brand based in Austin, Texas.

Off-price. The Rack lists Tecovas styles also sold on tecovas.com at about 32 to 43 percent off. No made-for-outlet line is documented.

Check before you buy.

  • 3/4 Goodyear welt and leather sole, or the rubber-soled Rugged line
  • Leather: cowhide, goat, bison or exotic
  • Compare-at matches tecovas.com
CTed BakerSuits, jackets, trousers · ShirtsOff-price stock is mixed

Why this grade. Real wool, but fused suits made under license, from a brand that has closed its UK and US stores, fail the build and afterlife tests.

Build. Suits are fully fused wool, and North American tailoring is made under license.

Made. Not stated.

Off-price. The Rack mostly lists stretch dress shirts at a $79.50 compare-at, below the brand site's shirt range.

Check before you buy.

  • Skip polyester-heavy tech stretch blends
  • Compare the Rack compare-at to tedbaker.com
  • Expect a fused front
BThe North FaceOuterwearOff-price stock is mixed

Why this grade. Specs and RDS down are disclosed and defects carry a lifetime warranty, but the line is sprawling and outlet stock may mix in made-for-outlet pieces.

Build. The 1996 Retro Nuptse uses 700-fill RDS-certified down in a recycled nylon ripstop shell.

Made. Imported; country not stated.

Off-price. The Rack runs deep markdowns; a shopping guide reports outlets also stock made-for-outlet items.

Check before you buy.

  • Style code matches thenorthface.com
  • Fill power and RDS on down pieces
  • Authorized seller, or warranty claims can be refused
  • Ignore the compare-at value
AThursday Boot CompanyBootsRarely discounted

Why this grade. A welted, full-grain, resoleable boot at about $200 that holds up in its lane; thinner leather and a foam insole are trade-offs, not defects.

Build. Goodyear welted, with full-grain leather from Lefarc or Horween, rubber soles and a foam insole. Resoleable.

Made. Made in Leon, Mexico. The Vanguard is made in the USA.

Off-price. Sold through its own site and stores. Seconds appear at occasional warehouse events as final sale.

Check before you buy.

  • Buy direct or at a warehouse event
  • Seconds are final sale
  • Lefarc or Horween leather
  • Storm welt if you want water resistance
BTimexWatchesOff-price stock is mostly mainline

Why this grade. Transparent pricing and restrained heritage designs; the compromise is entry materials and a 1-year warranty.

Build. Mostly quartz with brass or steel cases and mineral or acrylic crystals; automatics such as the Marlin use a Miyota movement.

Made. US brand; watches made in the Far East, many in the Philippines, and some in Switzerland.

Off-price. Mainline models are routinely discounted at big retailers; the 1-year warranty needs an authorized-retailer receipt.

Check before you buy.

  • Brass, steel or titanium case
  • Acrylic, mineral or sapphire crystal
  • Keep the receipt
ATissotWatchesOff-price stock is mostly mainline

Why this grade. Sapphire, 316L steel and an 80-hour Swiss automatic at about $850 make the PRX a benchmark with restrained design.

Build. Powermatic 80 automatic (80 hours) with sapphire and 316L steel on the PRX; quartz PRX from $425.

Made. Swiss Made; movements by Swatch Group's ETA.

Off-price. Nordstrom Rack sells older Tissot lines at roughly 40 to 50 percent off; grey sellers swap Tissot's warranty for their own. How to tell: Tissot's warranty needs a certificate stamped by an official dealer.

Check before you buy.

  • Dealer-stamped warranty certificate
  • Powermatic 80 or quartz
  • Rack stock skews to older lines
BTodd SnyderChinos and cotton trousers · Tees and polosRarely discounted

Why this grade. The Portugal-made tees and polos pass the room, material and restraint tests; the build and afterlife tests hold only partly, because the $188 Favorite Chino is imported with no weight stated and the 5-pocket blends in polyester.

Build. The Straight Fit Favorite Chino is 100 percent cotton twill, washed soft, with a zip fly and button-through back welt pockets. The 5-Pocket Chino is a garment-dyed stretch twill of 90 percent cotton, 8 percent polyester and 2 percent Lycra. Chino fabric weights are not stated. The Premium Jersey Tee is piece-dyed 100 percent cotton jersey, the Boxy Jersey Tee is 215 gsm cotton, and the Relaxed Textured Montauk Polo is a 260 gsm cotton knit with single-needle topstitching.

Made. Core chinos are labeled Imported with no country named. The $348 Japanese Selvedge Chino uses Kuroki mill fabric from Japan and is sewn in China. The Premium Jersey Tee, Boxy Jersey Tee and Montauk Polo are made in Portugal.

Off-price. Markdowns run on toddsnyder.com itself and at New York sample sales. No outlet stores or outlet line turned up, and the only Nordstrom Rack listing found was a sold-out collaboration shoe.

Check before you buy.

  • Tees and Montauk polos say Made in Portugal on the tag
  • Chino fiber tag: Favorite Chino is 100 percent cotton; the 5-Pocket Chino contains 8 percent polyester
  • Style number on the tag matches a toddsnyder.com listing
  • Japanese Selvedge Chino names Kuroki fabric and says made in China
BUniqloJeans · Tees and polos · Chinos and cotton trousersRarely discounted

Why this grade. It passes the room, restraint and material tests with 100 percent cotton selvedge jeans and U tees under $60, and the afterlife test with $5 repairs and free hemming, but the build is mass-made with unstated weights and the chinos lean on polyester blends.

Build. The selvedge jeans use shuttle-loom denim co-developed with Kaihara. The Selvedge Regular-Fit ($49.90) and Selvedge Straight ($59.90) are 100 percent cotton, and the Slim Straight Selvedge ($59.90) adds 1 to 2 percent spandex. Weights are not stated. The Uniqlo U Crew Neck T-Shirt is 100 percent cotton heavyweight jersey with a bound collar, and the Supima tee is 100 percent Supima cotton, both at $24.90. The AIRism cotton pique polo is $29.90 at 57 percent cotton and 43 percent nylon. The Barrel Chino is 100 percent cotton at $59.90, the Slim Chino is 38 percent polyester at $59.90, and the Smart Ankle Pants are polyester-rayon at $39.90.

Made. Uniqlo uses partner factories. Current jeans come from Bangladesh, the Uniqlo U tee from Bangladesh, Cambodia and Vietnam, the Supima tee from Cambodia and Vietnam, and the polos and chinos from Vietnam. The selvedge denim is co-developed with the Japanese mill Kaihara; where the fabric is woven is not stated.

Off-price. No Nordstrom Rack or outlet listings turned up. Uniqlo sells through its own stores and site, where it runs limited-period discounts, typically 20 to 30 percent.

Check before you buy.

  • Selvedge listing says 100% cotton and co-developed with Kaihara; Slim Straight Selvedge adds spandex
  • Tee label says Uniqlo U or SUPIMA cotton, 100% cotton
  • Chino composition: Barrel Chino 100% cotton, Slim Chino 38% polyester
  • Collab pieces carry extra branding
AVetraChore jackets and overshirtsRarely discounted

Why this grade. Passes the room, material, build and restraint tests with French-made twisted-warp twill and felled seams at mid prices, but US stock is patchy, fabric weight is unstated and there is no repair program.

Build. The core jacket is 100% organic cotton dungaree twill woven with two-ply twisted warp yarns. The chore jacket also comes in organic cotton moleskin in a sateen weave. Vetra builds with two-needle felled seams, bar tacks and reinforcement layers, and uses five metal buttons, three outside pockets and one inside pocket. Fabric weight in g/m2 is not stated.

Made. Made in France in Vetra's own factory, in the Sarthe in western France since 1955, by the family that founded the company in 1927. Vetra sells direct in euros (180 to 276 euros for its core twill and moleskin jackets) and ships to the US. US prices here come from Huckberry: $175 for the twill chore coat and $229 for moleskin.

Off-price. No outlet channel exists. Discounts come as boutique markdowns on the same jackets, such as Huckberry at $139.98 from $175.

Check before you buy.

  • Label reads made in France
  • Style code such as 1G/5C or 4M/5 on the listing
  • Felled seams and bar-tacked pocket corners
  • Five metal buttons down the front
CVinceKnitwearOff-price stock is mostly mainline

Why this grade. Understated cashmere, but no ply or origin detail, no repair program, and routine off-price flow means list price is not the real price.

Build. Men's cashmere crews are 100 percent cashmere with fully fashioned sleeves; ply and gauge are not disclosed.

Made. Imported, mostly from China, Vietnam and Peru.

Off-price. Out-of-season Vince goes to off-price stores and Vince outlets, so the Rack price is the usual price.

Check before you buy.

  • 100 percent cashmere or a blend
  • Country of origin on the care label
  • Ignore the compare-at value